Thursday, March 05, 2009

New Twist to All-Big East Team

There will be a twist to the all-Big East team this season: rather than a 10 or 11-man first team, a 10 or 11-man second team and a handful of honorable mentions, there will be three five-man teams (chosen by merit, not by position) and about four or five honorable mentions. (Not sure if Player of the Year also makes one of the teams, or if he's in his own category).

Makes it even tougher to choose an all-conference team in by far the biggest and best conference in the country.

Or put it this way: the NABC All-District team was announced last night, and neither Jeff Adrien, DeJuan Blair, Sam Young, Dante Cunningham nor Da'Sean Butler made the first team. They all made second team. First team was Hasheem Thabeet, Jerel McNeal, Terrence Williams, Luke Harangody and Jonny Flynn.

Either way, the all-conference team will be announced on Sunday afternoon. On Monday, Defensive Player of the Year, Sixth Man, Most Improved Player and Sportsmanship Award winners will be named. And on Tuesday around 5:30 p.m., in between sessions of the Big East tournament's first round, the Player of the Year, Coach of the Year and Rookie of the Year will each be honored.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home